The next day was an open day at Crownhill Fort. Built in 1872, it retains many of the features of that period, overlayed with it’s varied usage since. It was ‘withdrawn from service’ in 1986 and purchased by the Landmark Trust. It is a spectacular venue for a picnic, not least because of the extensive underground tunnels to explore, and the gun emplacements to climb!

Posted by Picasa