We didn’t spend all our time in York … we had time to visit both Nunnington Hall and Beningbrough Hall both of which were delightful discoveries. We took a turn round Beverley Minster, too. I liked the town of Beverley – far larger than I expected.

But we also made arrangements to visit Aunt Pat … DH’s aunt by marriage. She is quite a character … her 80th birthday party in the summer was a line dancing party which by all accounts was great fun! We couldn’t make it, hence our visit north this holiday … it was lovely to renew our acquaintance with her – we’ve not seen her for some time, though she used to visit the south west regularly. We spent some time too with her daughter, DH’s cousin, G and her family … I’ve only met them once before, but I really liked them all … we really must find a way of seeing them more often. There’s another cousin M, too – she came down to the funeral and I found her really easy to talk to, but we couldn’t see her on this visit.

So it felt a very ‘complete’ holiday … new places and old faces – just the sort of holiday I like! :D

