DH began his sabbatical with a retreat, so we decided that one way to mark the end of his time out was for me to go and do the same …

It was an ‘individually guided retreat’. Sadly, although DH really benefited from the spiritual direction that was offered, mine was rather less helpful. I’ve thought about it a lot, concerned that it might have been my attitude or expectation that was at fault, but in all honesty I don’t think it was. It may simply have been a mismatch in the particular style of direction I was offered – certainly, other directors at the same retreat worked very differently and I suspect I would have found more than one of them very helpful. Whatever, it was a lesson learned, and probably a valuable one!

However, I was greatly blessed by my time away … not least that I had a lovely room facing the sea. In one sense the view was the same every day – the lawn, hills and the sea – but in fact it changed several times a day …

Posted Image
 Posted Image

I took literally hundreds of photos to try and simply get one or two that adequately captured the infinite variation of colour in the water … from slate grey …

Posted Image
… to pure gold
 Posted Image

I walked most days, usually starting out when it was dry, only occasionally coming home still dry! But the evening I walked the coast path to Lynton was simply magical. There were goats round every corner …

Posted Image

Look at those horns!

and it’s the time of year for the kids …

Posted Image

They are just as happy as the adults browsing the steep slopes

Even the clouds were beautiful …

Posted Image

So despite some struggles in my inner self, the world outside was a huge blessing :D

I might write a different blog entry on keeping the silence … but then again, I might not! :rolleyes:

