I’ve made a few more blocks now … picking and choosing as I go. I really don’t want to get involved in ‘paper piecing’ if I can help it, and there are one or two angles I haven’t yet worked out how to do, but there are still plenty to choose from!

You can see that I’m struggling to stick to the colour plan … I can’t cut some of the shapes from the scraps I have so I’ve added in a couple of other fabrics. Not sure they all go together, but once it’s sashed (can’t decide if I like them en point?) I don’t think they’ll stick out too much. One of the blocks is my own (in order to use up some mini half-squares that were cut off from other blocks) and one of them (top left in top picture) is a mixture of three different blocks which were basically the same but in a variety of colourways. I might make it again, with greater contrast in the fabrics, which will look completely different.

I’ve been working in the garden too, but I keep getting distracted back into the spare room – not just for the Farmers’ Wife blocks, either …

Patchwork is an expensive hobby, and I can’t afford to spend a lot of money on fabric … so I avoid ‘pre-cuts’. I have bought two jelly rolls to use for particular projects, but I regard them as exceptions (honest!) and in fact, most fabric I do buy, I buy at reduced prices whenever I can. However, when I saw a Moda charm pack for £5 in a sale, I thought it might be worth buying one just once, to see what I could do with it. I actually didn’t like many of the prints, but set off against the white (I’m using calico), I’m quite pleased with the result. It’s not perfect, but I don’t think the occasional missed point will stand out when it’s quilted. I really must set aside some time in the autumn to quilt some tops …

I didn’t enjoy quilting DD2’s birthday quilt, so it’s rather put me off. But I have several small tops to practise on, so I might make it easy on myself and stick with straight lines!

