Day 3 – March 7th – #2

Today’s generous act is

Each of us has a toolbox, and no two are alike. They are full of the things that make us unique: our experiences, our skills, our faith, our resources, our intelligence, our passions, our networks.

Create a list of the tools you have at your disposal: it might include your creative mind, your enthusiasm, your computer skills, or your savings. Then, use one item on your list to bless someone today …

This post could take some time to write …

Actually, I’m not sure I want to post my list online. This is not, and never will be, a ‘bare it all’ piece of writing. This temporary journal is supposed to be about seeing God in my life, so you’ll have to make do with a few thoughts on the topic.

I’m not aware of any ‘tool’ that I’m not already using in some way, which I guess means I ought to feel totally content and fulfilled. And I hope someone is blessed every day when I put a good meal in front of them … as they will be again later today when I put my culinary skills to good use.

So instead, I think I want to look for the unused/underused skills, if I can identify them. I know that in the right circumstances I am a good listener, but those opportunities don’t come along very often (one reason I so enjoy the clergy wives conference each year) … so perhaps I need to get out and about with people a bit more often. Not always easy with my current commitments and family situation.

I am also a good administrator (though I have no appropriate qualifications) … but I use those skills a lot and so tend to get frustrated from time to time if I feel taken for granted :blush: , and I have come home with a list of jobs that will keep me busy for a few days yet, well into the time I should spend preparing my next sermon because, oh yes, I have those sort of skills, too. I probably don’t use those enough, but there are only so many hours in a day and writing takes time … especially the sort of writing that you then preach – it is totally different than writing a blog, for example.

One of the jobs on my list is to explore the possibility of setting up a website for the clergy wives group … I am proud that my teenager DD1 is impressed by my computer skills, even though I know I am falling further and further behind as technology develops faster than I can follow.

I am struggling to recognise what skills I have that I might not be using … my creativity is limited by my total inability to draw (which I should love to be able to do), and my impatience. I learn practical skills quickly, but lack the perseverance to become an expert at anything … therefore I describe myself as ‘a Jill of all trades, master of none’. Once I have the ability to create a usable product, I do not have the endurance to perfect it, to commit the time required for finesse. Patchwork, lace making, cross stitch, candle making and quilting have all been hobbies that I have been passionate about for as long as it took to make something good enough. But that’s enough and the passion then fades.

Knitting is different. Knitting is the one skill I have used ever since I first learned in my late teens. My mother and grandmother tried for years to teach me to knit, but I eventually learned when a friend showed me how to cast on, and I was off – my first complete item (about three weeks later) was a waistcoat with three different kinds of cable! I even impressed myself on that occasion :lol: So although I don’t always have knitting on the go, it is a skill that I return to time and time again, most recently learning to knit socks (see other posts on this blog in the category Hobbies). It’s a shame real wool is so expensive these days …

So I haven’t yet discovered which of my skills may be underused or even unidentified … but it’s time to go and make some bread for tea, so I must stop. But I will pray about it … the origin of this challenge was about generosity, and God is the most generous of all … If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him (James 1:5 NIV) … and I think it’s wise to know what gifts you have been given and how God hopes you will use them. Watch this space …

 

 

