We’ve started our bird list for this year … we had a week away after the girls went back to Uni (it was lovely to have them home but we are enjoying the empty nest!) 🙂

We had four short trips during the week … it was too cold to stay anywhere long! Our usual haunts at Seaton and Topsham, and a new venue for us, Radipole Lake at Weymouth.

The garden at home

Chaffinch
Robin
Blackbird
Feral Pigeon
Goldfinch
Magpie
Great Tit

Radipole

Coot
Moorhen
Tufted Duck
Cormorant (including a sub-variety I can’t indentify)
? Marsh Harrier (I took someone else’s word for it as I couldn’t identify it myself!)
Hooded Merganser (spectacular)

Topsham

Shoveller
Widgeon
Lapwing
Barnacle Geese
Pintail
Mallard
Canada Geese
? Water Rail (someone pointed it out to me and I saw it clearly, but wouldn’t have spotted or identified it myself!)

Seaton (two hides)

Little Egret
Little Grebe (Dabchick)
Shelduck
Blackwit (Black-tailed Godwit)
Curlew
Redshank
Crow
Rook
Black-headed Gull
Large Black-backed Gull
Lesser Black-backed Gull
Common Gull
Herring Gull

Out and about

Swan
Heron
edited to add … Turnstone, Pied Wagtail, Rock Pipit (all on Sidmouth sea front)

For brevity, I haven’t included repeat sightings.

I must ask DH if I’ve missed any. I didn’t have my big camera with me, just a point and shoot, so no spectacular photos … but a few were sharp enough to crop and enlarge …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

