We’ve just had 10 days away – our post-Easter break – and it was much needed. We had some glorious weather in the days before we left, but of course, the heat wave broke just as we were leaving. Yet we had some lovely sunny days, if rather cooler than the previous week. Only one miserable day our whole time away … but the contrast only served to make us more grateful for the other nine 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We spent time in the garden, replanting the herb bed (well, DH did the digging and I bought the plants!), time visiting family and friends, and time watching birds (Seaton Marshes, Radipole and Lodmoor at Weymouth) … a few firsts to add to the list; Gadwall, Pochard and a Short-eared Owl hunting over the reed beds at Seaton Marshes. I never did get to actually see the Reed Warbler I could hear singing only a few feet from me in the reeds. (And no photos of the owl – I just wanted to watch)

We spent a lovely Sunday afternoon walking among the bluebells at Holywell Woods … so many textures in the plant life, and splashes of colour among the greenery. And bird song … so many birds. I heard blackbird, wren, chaffinch, and thrush singing almost continually.

Now a day back home to catch up before the routine reasserts itself … I have missed seeing people, but I would have been happy to stay away a little longer!

