IMG_7348

I finished my second SOL CAL (Spice of Life Crochet Along) – it ended up 4ft x 7ft, rather than the  4ft x 6ft I was aiming for … once I recovered from my initial miscount of stitches … so it looks rather elongated, apart from all the other mistakes I can see … but I learned so much along the way. I made up a couple of my own rows and the edging,

IMG_7349

and I’m quite pleased with them. So I will include them again in my next … yes, another! I bought a colour pack of yarn to do my second, but had too many colours, so took out all the muted greens, pale yellow and gold and have enough (with leftovers from my first) to do a slightly smaller version of the original SOL CAL.

I’ve been impressed with everyone who has made this blanket from their ‘stash’ so when browsing the internet late one evening I took advantage of an unexpected offer. I used an acrylic yarn for the original project – it was the less expensive option of the suggested colour packs – and was hoping to find another suitable colour pack, when I happened upon a ‘cyber Monday’ deal with the yarn at £1 a ball (usual price £1.79 – £1.99) … so I bought a stash of my own! I’ve ordered sufficient yarn to do two or three blankets, or perhaps one smaller and one larger one. They’re not here yet, but in the meanwhile, I still have the left overs from packs one and two to start a third …

