I love the Science Alert website, and recently, one post in particular caught my eye … New Year resolutions are the butt of many a joke, but this article suggests they may not be a bad idea after all!

It’s been a while since I set myself a resolution just because it was Jan 1st (not least, because I think it should be a considered commitment if it’s going to make any significant difference, rather than a ‘spur of the moment’ idea). But this last year, I’ve been forced to make a considerable ‘life-style’ change when diagnosed with diabetes (type 2) in the summer. I’ve been aware for some years that I am relatively inactive … I don’t believe that’s the only cause, but I admit it played a large part. So far, I’ve done a lot to change my diet (though, to be fair, it wasn’t that bad in the first place), and lost some weight as a result. However, despite my best intentions, I am still quite sedentary from day to day, not least because my current hobby (see previous posts!) means I sit for long periods of time whenever I have opportunity. I have never been one to walk for the sake of walking …

I’m still not certain what shape any ‘resolution’ should/will take … but I’m working on it! And just because I’ve not settled on the details on January 1st, doesn’t mean I can’t start on another day 🙂

In the meanwhile, I am still ‘hooking’ – I have completed four blankets so far-  one of which went home with Mum at Christmas. So here are the other three …

IMG_7490

The one on top is a different pattern (colours chosen by DH who has a good eye for these things) … so my next project is going to be a combination of both designs, leaving out the rows I really don’t like, and quite possibly adding in one or two pattern rows of my own (or from a book I’ve ordered, if it arrives in time!). My mother’s question is always, ‘What are you going to do with them all?’, which indicates she really doesn’t quite understand – it’s about the making and creating rather than the finished article – although I love how they are each so different. And I am still learning … so I have a mini-blanket on the go, made from left over yarn, on which I practise stitches and techniques as I discover them – even that looks interesting, though there is little overall unity to the design or the colours!

Finally for today, our churches have recently been drawn back time and time again to a particular verse in the Bible, so we have agreed to adopt it as our ‘motto’ or verse for the year for 2016,

See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness
and streams in the wasteland.

Isaiah 43:19

I pray that you will know peace and joy throughout this coming year.
Every blessing xx

