In my last post I said I would soon post about ‘ongoing projects’. In fact, I’ve actually finished a few things since last posting about anything crafty 🙂

IMG_8192

A shawl(ette), pattern by Cherry Heart – there are some lovely details, but you do have to like making ‘puffs’!

IMG_8194

IMG_8190

I’ve made this twice now, both in a soft grey, but I wanted to make something slightly larger, so I adapted the pattern by using a butterfly motif instead of the puffs,

img_8184-001

 

which uses far less yarn, so I’ve been able to add in two extra pattern repeats for the same amount of wool. I couldn’t decide how to adapt the edging, so am going to use a simple ruffled edge (3tr blo in each stitch) … I haven’t quite reached that yet, and may not quite have sufficient yarn, so I’ll keep going and see – I can pull back and adapt if I have to. I definitely prefer the slightly larger size, so may yet make another, this time allowing myself three balls of 100g … !

IMG_8183

I have just worked the final row on the top edge and really like the effect of the simple dc border …

IMG_8185

One other finish was a project to use up some ends, a pram blanket in moss stitch.

IMG_8197

I love the stitch, but it took me quite a while to work out how to keep the sides straight, so it’s rather wonky. I settled on having an even number of stitches and starting each row 2dc … ||-|-|-| … that way, each row begins and ends the same, and I don’t have to think about it. It’s quite a firm edge so it’s not totally necessary to finish the edge with a border row. It’s quite a dense fabric, but the yarn is soft.

I like having a project on the go that I don’t have to think about, and can make while watching television or talking with friends (that’s why I ended up making the grey shawl twice!), but my other two projects need more concentration.

I’m not sure I’ve shown you this before … I do have some photos of earlier stages, but this is where I’m at just now.

IMG_8176

This is Sophie’s Universe which grew out of a smaller project, Sophie’s garden. It’s intricate, and in this cotton yarn, very colourful …

IMG_8180

I still have some way to go. The colours are a kit, and should be sufficient, but my tension is rather loose, so I’m hoping I can complete it without buying more.

IMG_8178

I thought I had another simple project lined up, a blanket in squares, which also makes it more portable. However, when I made up a square in scrap yarn, I didn’t like it – not the colours, but the making of it. I decided I couldn’t face making 48 of the same pattern, so I’ve been looking around for another design to use with the colours I had ready, and found this,

IMG_8187

These are my colours, but you can see the pattern in many different colourways, Lise (you may need to be signed in to Ravelry to view – my apologies). My plan is to make up the squares with random colours, but keep the edging (final three rows) the same colour. It may be one of those projects I don’t quite like by the time I’ve finished, but I may yet decide I do, so I’ll keep going, though I’ve laid the project to one side for now, as my time to concentrate on crochet is limited and I want to finish Sophie’s Universe before beginning this. But I shall soon need to find another simple project for those long hours I spend watching tv …

