Having settled on a blanket made of squares (pattern Lise), I realised that while I liked the project, it wasn’t what I needed to do. Mostly I crochet (or knit) to keep my hands busy (and maybe to stay awake) while chatting or watching tv … and Lise was going to take too much concentration. So I looked round the many patterns I’ve bookmarked, and remembered Cherry Heart’s clamshell pattern.

image

I went through my stash of colours and settled on seven I think work together – what do you think? I decided to make a smaller blanket this time, cot or knee sized, multiple of 8 +1 stitches, so 161 … but after a few colours realised my edges were too ragged. So I ripped it out and started again …

image

Much better! I’m having to mark the first stitch of each row, to be able to find it again at the end of the next row … especially the rows that begin with slip stitches. But the pattern itself was fairly straightforward to master. I think I’d like one of these on my bed, so I’ll finish this and then do it again … possibly even in the same colours.  That should keep me going for a while 🙂

